Agenda

We have a fantastic lineup for you! On July 30, listen and learn from various experts in our industry and ask questions live using #dotNETConf hashtag on Twitter.

And as a bonus, we have organized a free, post-conference workshop on July 31 for you to go deep on building microservices with .NET on Azure. This is 6 hours of content that will be brought to you by Microsoft architects working with real customers every day, delivered on our Visual Studio Twitch channel.

Schedule

Day #1

Welcome to .NET Conf: Focus on Microservices - Scott Hunter   David Fowler  

08:00 (PT) | 15:00 (UTC)

Scott and David from the .NET team kick off the day with .NET Core features, roadmap and lots of demos of building microservices with .NET.

Why You Should Care About Microservices - Brendan Burns  

09:00 (PT) | 16:00 (UTC)

Hear from the co-founder of Kubernetes about why microservices are important and why you should care about them.

Stay Sharp - Kelsey Hightower  

10:00 (PT) | 17:00 (UTC)

A Journey into .NET Microservices with Steeltoe - David Dieruf  

11:00 (PT) | 18:00 (UTC)

The Steeltoe project aims to help you get the most out of the cloud, with very little code. By taking advantage of .NET Core’s dependency injection and middleware pipeline, it gives developers instant best practices. Steeltoe also helps legacy .NET Framework apps become instantly modern and make best friends with containers.

Orleans at Microsoft - Reuben Bond  

11:30 (PT) | 18:30 (UTC)

See how Orleans, an open source, cross-platform, distributed application framework, is used to build hyper-scale, highly-available systems at Microsoft.

Adding a Little DAPR to Your .NET Microservices - Cecil Philip  

12:00 (PT) | 19:00 (UTC)

DAPR makes building distributed applications much easier by providing a collection of language agnostic building blocks that can be used in any cloud or on-prem environment. In this session, we’ll dive into DAPR, discuss the various build blocks it supports, and see some demos of how you can make use of it in your .NET applications.

Developing and Deploying Microservices with 'Tye' - Glenn Condron   Justin Kotalik  

12:30 (PT) | 19:30 (UTC)

Learn about new tooling the .NET team is working on to help you build microservices faster.

Beyond REST and RPC: Asynchronous Eventing and Messaging Patterns - Clemens Vasters  

13:00 (PT) | 20:00 (UTC)

In this session you will learn about when and why to use asynchronous communication with and between services, what kind of eventing/messaging infrastructure you can use in the cloud and on the edge, and how to make it all work together.

The Intersection of Microservices, Domain-Driven Design and Entity Framework Core - Julie Lerman  

13:30 (PT) | 20:30 (UTC)

Domain-Driven Design (DDD) provides much of the strategic design guidance that we can use to determine the boundaries around and interactions between Microservices in our solutions. DDD also follows up with tactical design patterns for your business logic. In this session we’ll take a look at some of these patterns and how EF Core naturally, or with some additional configuration, persists the data that your microservices depend on.

Build High-performance Microservices with gRPC and .NET - James Newton-King  

14:00 (PT) | 21:00 (UTC)

gRPC is a high-performance RPC framework designed for microservices. In this talk you will learn how to use gRPC in .NET and see how gRPC is ideal for fast communication between microservices.

DevOps, Waffles, and Superheroes - Oh My! - Jessica Deen  

14:30 (PT) | 21:30 (UTC)

Microservices can be hard; understanding container best practices can be hard as those practices are still being discovered. This session helps you minimize the learning curve with container orchestration, specifically Kubernetes, by bringing DevOps best practices into the mix.

API Communication in Microservices with Azure API Management and Azure Functions - LaBrina Loving  

15:00 (PT) | 22:00 (UTC)

Managing how clients communicate to your microservices can become quite a challenge as your application grows in size and complexity.  Implementing an API Gateway to provide a single point of entry to microservices can address some of those concerns.  In this talk, I will show how to use API Management and Azure Functions to manage external API communication in microservices-based architectures.

Evolving .NET Framework Monoliths with .NET 5 and Kubernetes - Elton Stoneman  

15:30 (PT) | 22:30 (UTC)

You want to migrate your .NET monolith to microservices so you can run it in Kubernetes? That could be a year-long project, and you really don't need to do it. This session gives you a pragmatic approach to evolving your monolith, breaking features out into new microservices to get all the benefits of Kubernetes without a full rewrite. We'll start by running a legacy app in Windows containers and end with a distributed app running across Linux and Windows containers in the same Kubernetes cluster.

Migrating .NET Framework Web Apps to Azure - Carey Payette  

16:00 (PT) | 23:00 (UTC)

You don't have to have a micorservice-based architecture to take advantage of the cloud. In this session, Carey shows you how to take a monolith WebForms application and make it cloud ready with minimal work.

Building & Debugging Microservices faster using Kubernetes and Visual Studio - Shayne Boyer  

16:30 (PT) | 23:30 (UTC)

See how you can take advantage of Visual Studio tools to build, debug and deploy microservices to Kubernetes faster.

Day #2

Workshop Module 1: Introducing Microservices - Rob Vettor   Monu Bambroo  

09:00 (PT) | 16:00 (UTC)

We define microservices: What they are? How they work? Their benefits and challenges? The problems they solve. Importantly, we identity systems that would warrant this architectural approach.

Workshop Module 2: Modeling Microservices - Rob Vettor   Monu Bambroo  

10:00 (PT) | 17:00 (UTC)

We examine best practices for scoping microservices.  What are the drivers for partitioning them? How granular should they be?  We talk greenfield systems as well as approaches to replatforming a brownfield monolithic system into a microservice architecture.

Workshop Module 3: Architecting Microservices - Rob Vettor   Monu Bambroo  

11:00 (PT) | 18:00 (UTC)

We explore microservice architecture, its characteristics, and design. Emphasis is on widely-accepted patterns and principles. Coverage includes service design, DDD, backing services, observability, resiliency, idempotency, and decoupled configuration.

Workshop (Break) - Rob Vettor   Monu Bambroo  

12:00 (PT) | 19:00 (UTC)

Workshop Module 4: Deploying Microservices to Kubernetes - Rob Vettor   Monu Bambroo  

13:00 (PT) | 20:00 (UTC)

We deploy a set of containerized microservices to Azure Kubernetes Service. Emphasis is on the orchestration and management features of Kubernetes along with decision of criteria of when to use it.

Workshop Module 5: Deploying Service Mesh to Kubernetes - Rob Vettor   Monu Bambroo  

14:00 (PT) | 21:00 (UTC)

We will deploy service mesh solution on top of Azure Kubernetes Service with emphasis on having a dedicated infrastructure layer for handling layer service to service communication and layer 7 service needs.

Workshop Module 6: Distributed Data - Rob Vettor   Monu Bambroo  

15:00 (PT) | 22:00 (UTC)

We consider best practices for managing distributed data following the widely-accepted Database per Microservice pattern. Emphasis is on managing consistency when implementing cross-service queries and transactions. Coverage of Materialized View Patterns, Sagas, CQRS, and Event Sourcing. Discussion of relational and No-SQL Options in Azure.